Cloudy · 73°

Weapons Permits

The State of Iowa is a “shall issue” state where weapon permits to carry are granted unless there are circumstances present for a Sheriff to deny a permit. These circumstances are defined by law.

New Permits

Permits are printed at the state level and will be mailed to applicants. Permit to Carry and Permit to Purchase weapon applications can be obtained at the Sheriff’s Office.

Applicant must have a certification class or Military DD214 honorable discharge and must have an Iowa driver's license or state-issued identification with current address.

Applicants must complete the Permit to Carry Application and must pass a background check. The cost for a new Permit to Carry is $50.00.

Permit to Carry Application   Permit to Acquire Application

Renewals

An application can be made up to 30 days prior to the expiration date but must be made prior to 30 days after the expiration date. If you miss the 60-day renewal window, you will have to apply for a new permit. (A new certification class is not required if the permit to carry was issued on or after January 1st, 2011. You must have a driver's license or state-issued identification with (current) address. Applicant must pass a new background check and the cost for a renewal permit is $25.00 for 5 years.

Lost Permit or Address Change

If you lose or damage a permit, or have a name or address change, you must complete a duplicate permit application and must pass a new background check. Duplicate permits cost $25.00.

Back · Sheriff & Jail