Minutes of Winnebago County Public Safety Commission Meeting date: January 16, 2024

Call to order: A regular business meeting of the Winnebago County Public Safety Commission was held at the Public Safety Center. The meeting convened at 4:25 p.m. Chairman Andy Buffington presiding and Jennifer Ackerman Secretary.

Members in attendance: Terry Durby – representing Winnebago County, Thomas Montgomery & Daisy Huffman – representing Forest City, Troy Armstrong – representing Buffalo Center, Guy Langfald – representing Scarville, Mike Hauan – representing Thompson, Chad Nordskog – representing Leland.

Members not in attendance: Representatives of Rake and Lake Mills.

Others in attendance: Winnebago County Sheriff Steven Hepperly and Chelsey Utpadel and Chris Lamont with Next Generation Technologies (NGT).

Approval of minutes: Mr. Armstrong made a motion to approve the agenda and the minutes of the last regular business meeting of the Commission on January 31, 2023. Mr. Montgomery offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried.

Election of Vice Chair: Mr. Buffington being the Communications Director is the Chairman of the Commission as per the Public Safety Commission By-Laws. Mr. Armstrong made a motion to retain Mr. Durby as the Vice Chair, Mr. Nordskog offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried. Mr. Durby is the Vice Chair.

NGT Discussed IT: Ms. Utpadel presented the estimated costs for FY25 service contract, software, licensing, and adding Information Security (IS) program. NGT's Information Security officer Chancy Chipman joined via Zoom to explain the need for information security and what NGT's IS services entail.

Budget FY25: Ms. Ackerman advised the budget presented included the cost of NGT's recommended IS services; the wage portion is based on a 6% increase for all employees which was the percent increase the dispatcher's union had negotiated for the dispatchers with the same percent for Ms. Ackerman and Mr. Buffington. Ms. Ackerman advised the budget reflected the same amounts previously budgeted for reserve funds: \$10,000 for the Infrastructure Fund and \$14,000 for the IT Infrastructure Fund. Mr. Durby asked if anything is budgeted to be spent out of these funds in FY25. Ms. Ackerman advised nothing has been budgeted to spend out of those two funds. Mr. Hauan made a motion to accept the budget as presented, Mr. Nordskog offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried.

Procedure Updates: Ms. Ackerman presented additions and changes to Dispatch Procedures. Mr. Buffington asked if anyone wanted to make a motion to approve the changes, Mr. Durby made a motion to approve the changes, Mr. Armstrong offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried.

Other business: No other business

Winnebago County Public Safety Commission	
Secretary	Date of Approval
Jennifer Ackerman	1/28/2025
voted aye, meeting adjourned at 5:14 p.m.	

Adjournment: Mr. Armstrong made a motion to adjourn; Mr. Nordskog offered a second. All