Minutes of Winnebago County Public Safety Commission Meeting date: January 31, 2023

Call to order: A regular business meeting of the Winnebago County Public Safety Commission was held at the Public Safety Center. The meeting convened at 4:18 p.m. Chairman Andy Buffington presiding and Jennifer Ackerman Secretary.

Members in attendance: Terry Durby – representing Winnebago County, Thomas Montgomery via phone – representing Forest City, Rick Hofbauer – representing Buffalo Center, Carla Langfald – representing Scarville, Mike Hauan – representing Thompson, Chad Nordskog – representing Leland.

Members not in attendance: Representatives of Rake and Lake Mills.

Others in attendance: Winnebago County Sheriff Steven Hepperly and Brad Leckrone with Next Generation Technologies (NGT).

Approval of minutes: Mr. Buffington requested a motion be made to approve the agenda and minutes of the last regular business meeting of the Commission on April 14, 2022. Mr. Durby made a motion, Mr. Nordskog offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried.

Election of Vice Chair: Mr. Buffington being the Communications Director is the Chairman of the Commission as per the Public Safety Commission By-Laws. Ms. Langfald made a motion to retain Mr. Durby as the Vice Chair, Mr. Hauan offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried. Mr. Durby is the Vice Chair.

NGT Discussed IT: Brad Leckrone presented the estimated costs for FY24 service contract, software, licensing, and replacement of old hardware; the major replacement being the main production host for an estimated \$48,000. Mr. Leckrone also advised NGT's recommendations for new services and hardware; the Information Security package for \$7,800 annually, immutable backups for \$12,000 annually, whitelisting on the server for \$1,200 annually, and penetration testing for a one time estimate of \$3,000.

Budget FY24: Ms. Ackerman advised the budget presented included the cost of NGT's recommendations and the wages portion was based on an 8.7% increase for all employees which was what the Comp Board recommended for most elected officials; some were given 10%. The dispatchers are union members, and the wage negotiations would not take place until the following week, but Ms. Ackerman and Mr. Buffington's wages are set by the Commission. Mr. Hofbauer expressed concern over the large budget increases in the past couple of years. After much discussion on the IT portion everyone agreed to exclude the Information Security package for \$7,800, the immutable backups for \$12,000 and the penetration testing for \$3,000. They agreed to include the whitelisting for \$1,200.

Ms. Ackerman advised the balance of the Infrastructure IT Fund is \$31,920 and the Infrastructure Fund balance is \$62,105. The budget presented had \$31,000 of the \$48,000 for the host replacement coming from the Infrastructure IT Fund and \$17,000 budgeted in the Data Processing Equipment Line. At a previous meeting with the Board of Supervisors on the budget, Auditor Karla Weiss advised the Commission could choose to transfer money from the Infrastructure Fund to the Infrastructure IT fund so the entire cost could be spent out of money already saved. Mr. Durby questioned the amount budgeted for Workman's Comp; Ms. Ackerman advised she had figured the increase off of what was budgeted the previous year instead of the actual cost. Mr. Durby advised it should not be more than \$7,000.

The following changes to the budget were proposed.

0001-37-1040-000-42100 IT Services change from \$37,368 to \$29,568

0001-37-1040-000-42101 Software Maint Agreements change from \$34,562 to \$19,562

0002-37-1040-000-46400 Workmans Comp Liability change from \$12,681 to \$7,000

0001-37-1040-000-63200 Data Processing Equipment change from \$40,500 to \$23,500

0063-37-1040-000-81500 Capital Projects IT change from \$31,000 to \$48,000

Transfer \$17,000 from Infrastructure Fund #60 to Infrastructure IT Fund #63

Mr. Hofbauer made a motion to approve the budget with the proposed changes. Mr. Nordskog offered a second. All voted aye, motion carried.

Other business: No other business

Adjournment: Mr. Hauan made a motion to adjourn; Mr. Hofbauer offered a second. All voted aye, meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.

Jennifer Ackerman

1/16/2024

Secretary Winnebago County Public Safety Commission Date of Approval